Practice Notes


Table of Contents


PRACTICE NOTE No. 1


This practice note is no longer in effect. Click here to view an archived version of the former practice note. Issues related to the timeliness of hearings and decisions will be addressed in the Tribunal’s upcoming new Rules of Procedure.



PRACTICE NOTE No. 2


12 June 2009

RE : Representation of Parties by Non-Lawyers

  1. On occasion, parties to the inquiry process are represented by non-lawyers.
  2. The Tribunal expects non-lawyer representatives to accept the obligations of participating in the inquiry process by:

    1. treating the Members and staff of the Tribunal, as well as the other participants in the inquiry process, with courtesy and respect;
    2. obtaining a clear written authorization from the party they are representing which sets out the terms and conditions of their mandate;
    3. being well informed of the case and the position of the party they are representing;
    4. being available for conference calls, hearings and other events scheduled by the presiding Member;
    5. complying with any time limits set by the Tribunal, as well as any other directions or orders given by the Tribunal;
    6. complying with the Tribunal's Rules of Procedure, except where the rules require the services of a lawyer;
    7. fulfilling any undertakings given to the Tribunal or to another party, including confidentiality undertakings;
    8. refraining from any activity that would undermine the proper administration of justice, such as knowingly presenting false or misleading evidence, failing to disclose the existence of relevant documents or dissuading a witness from giving evidence.

  3. Non-lawyer representatives do not have the same representative responsibilities and rights as lawyers in the Tribunal inquiry process. In some instances, the law, or the Tribunal rules, authorize only lawyers to accomplish certain acts, (such as proof of service by a solicitor's certificate under rule 2(3)). Non-lawyers who choose to represent parties before the Tribunal must do so in full knowledge and acceptance of these limitations.
  4. Finally, it should be noted that the Tribunal Member presiding over the inquiry retains the authority to limit or exclude the participation of non-lawyer representatives where the Member has formed the opinion that such participation, for example, is likely to hinder, rather than facilitate, the inquiry process. 


PRACTICE NOTE No. 3


This practice note is no longer in effect. Click here to view an archived version of the former practice note. Issues related to case management will be addressed in the Tribunal’s upcoming new Rules of Procedure.





POLICY ON ACCESS TO THE CANADIAN HUMAN RIGHTS TRIBUNAL (CHRT) OFFICIAL RECORD

May 1st, 2020

NOTICE

The Tribunal has developed a Policy on Access to the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal (CHRT) Official Record, which takes effect immediately. The objectives of this policy are to set out the principles governing access to CHRT official records and to ensure the effective management of documents contained in such records. Though the Policy is already in effect, the Tribunal will examine with great interest any comment it may receive, and is open to the future modification of the policy, if necessary. To submit any comment, suggestion or question, please send an e-mail to: CHRTrules-TCDPregles@chrt-tcdp.gc.ca

Notes de pratiques


Table des matières


NOTE DE PRATIQUE No 1


Cette note de pratique n’est plus en vigueur. Cliquez ici afin d’accéder à la version archivée de cette ancienne note de pratique. Les questions liées à la tenue des audiences et à la diffusion des décisions en un temps opportun seront abordées dans les nouvelles Règles de pratique du Tribunal qui seront publiées sous peu.



NOTE DE PRATIQUE No 2


Le 12 juin 2009

Objet : Parties représentées par des non avocats

  1. Lors d'une instruction, les parties sont parfois représentées par des personnes qui ne sont pas des avocats.
  2. Le Tribunal s'attend à ce que les représentants non avocats acceptent les obligations suivantes découlant de leur participation au processus d'instruction:
    1. traiter les membres et le personnel du Tribunal, ainsi que les autres participants à l'instruction avec courtoisie et respect;
    2. obtenir de la partie représentée une autorisation écrite claire qui établit les conditions du mandat;
    3. être bien informé du dossier et de la position de la partie représentée;
    4. être disponible pour participer à des conférences téléphoniques, à des audiences et à d'autres procédures fixés par le membre instructeur;
    5. respecter tout délai établi par le Tribunal, ainsi que toute autre directive ou ordonnance du Tribunal;
    6. respecter les règles de procédure du Tribunal, à moins que les règles nécessitent les services d'un avocat;
    7. tenir tout engagement pris envers le Tribunal ou une autre partie, y compris les engagements portant sur la confidentialité;
    8. s'abstenir de commettre des actes qui pourraient nuire à la bonne administration de la justice, tels que sciemment présenter une preuve fausse ou trompeuse, ne pas divulguer l'existence d'un document pertinent ou dissuader une personne de faire un témoignage.
  3. Les représentants non avocats n'ont pas les mêmes droits et responsabilités que les avocats lors du processus d'instruction du Tribunal. Dans certains cas, les règles du Tribunal ou la loi disposent que seul un avocat peut s'acquitter de certaines tâches (par exemple, déposer la preuve d'une signification au moyen d'un certificat du procureur en vertu du paragraphe 2(3) des règles). Les non avocats qui choisissent de représenter une partie devant le Tribunal doivent le faire en toute connaissance de cause et en acceptant ces restrictions.
  4. Enfin, il convient de noter que le membre du Tribunal qui préside une instruction conserve le droit de limiter ou de refuser la participation d'un représentant non avocat s'il est d'avis que, par exemple, une telle participation nuirait à l'instruction au lieu de la faciliter.


NOTE DE PRATIQUE No 3


Cette note de pratique n’est plus en vigueur. Cliquez ici afin d’accéder à la version archivée de cette ancienne note de pratique. Les questions liées à la gestion de l’instance seront abordées dans les nouvelles Règles de pratique du Tribunal qui seront publiées sous peu.





POLITIQUE SUR L'ACCÈS AUX DOSSIERS OFFICIELS DU TRIBUNAL CANADIEN DES DROITS DE LA PERSONNE (TCDP)

Le 1e mai 2020

AVIS

Le Tribunal a développé une Politique sur l’accès aux dossiers officiels du Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne (TCDP), qui prend effet immédiatement. Le but de cette politique est d’énoncer les principes qui régissent l’accès aux dossiers officiels du TCDP et d’assurer une gestion efficace des documents qui s’y retrouvent. Malgré l’application immédiate de cette politique, le Tribunal considérera avec intérêt tous les commentaires qu’il recevra et est ouvert à une modification ultérieure de la politique si cela s’avère nécessaire. Pour tous commentaires, suggestions ou questions, veuillez nous écrire au : CHRTrules-TCDPregles@chrt-tcdp.gc.ca.