Mediation Procedures


December 10, 2010

EVALUATIVE MEDIATION AT THE
CANADIAN HUMAN RIGHTS TRIBUNAL

Parties to a proceeding before the Tribunal have the option of trying to resolve their case through evaluative mediation. This document is intended to explain the evaluative mediation process used by the Tribunal, to assist parties in deciding whether or not they wish to participate in evaluative mediation, and to help them prepare for evaluative mediation.


What is evaluative mediation?

Evaluative mediation is a voluntary process offered by the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal to allow parties to human rights complaints to explore settlement possibilities in an informal environment.

The Tribunal offers mediation at two steps of the process. The first is an evaluative mediation that takes place at the beginning of the process. During an evaluative mediation the Tribunal Member will evaluate the relative strengths and weaknesses of the positions advanced by the parties and may provide the parties with a non-binding opinion as to the probable outcome of the inquiry.

The second is a post-disclosure evaluative mediation that is offered approximately two weeks prior to the hearing. During a post-disclosure evaluative mediation, the Tribunal Member will hear the positions of the parties and render a non-binding opinion as to the probable outcome of the proceeding. The Tribunal Member may also join issues between the parties in order to expedite the hearing process.

If resolution is not reached on any or all issues, the Tribunal Member shall make a direction setting out the issues that have not been resolved and giving such directions as he or she considers necessary for their adjudication.


How does evaluative mediation work?

In evaluative mediation, the parties, including the Canadian Human Rights Commission, together with their lawyers (if lawyers are involved) meet with a mediator trained to assist in settling disputes. The mediator will usually meet with all of parties and their counsel in a joint session, although in some circumstances, the mediator may choose to start by meeting separately with each of the parties. In the initial session, the mediator will explain the evaluative mediation process and give each party an opportunity to explain his or her views about the issues in dispute. There is likely to be discussions and questions involving the mediator and the parties. In joint sessions, parties will be able to discuss the issues directly with the opposing side.

Where the evaluative mediation starts with a joint session, and where it is appropriate to do so, the mediator may caucus individually with each party. This allows the mediator and the parties to explore more fully the needs and interests underlying their stated positions. In caucus the mediator helps the parties to think about a range of potential options for settlement of all or some of the issues in dispute.

The mediator may conduct additional joint sessions to promote further discussions between the parties, and/or may continue to work with the parties in private caucuses. Where appropriate, the mediator may provide the parties with an assessment of the strength and weaknesses of the parties’ positions, based upon the information that has been provided to the mediator.

The mediator is there to facilitate negotiations between the parties, and has no power to impose a settlement.


Who are the mediators?

Mediators are members of the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal who, in addition to their expertise in human rights matters, have received specialized training in evaluative mediation techniques. They are neutral and impartial individuals and can assist the parties to a complaint in resolving their differences. A member of the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal who mediates a particular case will not hear the case, should it proceed to a hearing, nor will anything said to the mediator in the course of the evaluative mediation be communicated to the Tribunal member or members assigned to hear the case.


Where will the evaluative mediation take place?

The evaluative mediation will generally take place on neutral ground, at a location determined by the Tribunal. The mediation usually takes place in a formal hearing room or a conference room.


When will the evaluative mediation take place?

The Tribunal will try to schedule a evaluative mediation as soon after the case has been referred to the Tribunal as is practicable.


Will evaluative mediation delay the Tribunal hearing?

No. Hearing dates will be established by the Tribunal, and will ordinarily be set for the earliest available dates. Hearings will not be postponed in order to accommodate evaluative mediation.


How long will the evaluative mediation last?

A day is ordinarily set aside for each evaluative mediation. Additional time may be provided in appropriate cases.


Is the process confidential?

Discussions taking place during a evaluative mediation session are confidential, whether or not a settlement is reached. In the event that no agreement is reached, nothing said in the course of the evaluative mediation will be communicated to the Tribunal member or members subsequently assigned to hear the case. Before evaluative mediation can take place, all of the parties will be required to sign a document acknowledging that all information exchanged during evaluative mediation will be treated as strictly confidential by the parties and their representatives and cannot be used as evidence in a legal proceeding unless otherwise required by law. A copy of the Terms and Conditions of Evaluative mediation is found at Appendix 1.


What if I don’t want to try evaluative mediation?

Evaluative mediation at the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal is voluntary. That is, no one will be compelled to go to evaluative mediation if they do not want to do so.


How do I find out if the other parties want to try evaluative mediation?

Soon after the case is referred to the Tribunal by the Canadian Human Rights Commission, each of the parties will receive correspondence from the Tribunal Registry, asking, among other things, if the parties are interested in having the case mediated. If all of the parties are interested, the Tribunal will provide a mediator to assist the parties in arriving at a settlement of the complaint.


What do I do if I want to try evaluative mediation?

If all of the parties involved in your case express an interest in evaluative mediation, the Tribunal will then contact you in order to set up a time and place for the evaluative mediation, and a timetable for the exchange of evaluative mediation briefs.

A mediator will be assigned to the case. The mediator may contact you by telephone, in advance of the evaluative mediation session, in order to discuss matters such as who is going to be present at the evaluative mediation and what information should be provided to the mediator in advance of the evaluative mediation. The mediator may also want to confirm that those to be present at the evaluative mediation have the necessary authority to settle the case.


What information should I send to the mediator before the evaluative mediation?

Unless the mediator specifically requests additional information, you should send the mediator a brief written outline of the facts and issues in the case as you see them (10 pages maximum). The complainant should also indicate what remedies he/she is seeking. This information should be sent to the other parties and to the Tribunal at least three weeks before the evaluative mediation is scheduled to take place.


Can mediation be cancelled?

Upon review of the mediation briefs by the Tribunal, the Tribunal may defer or cancel the mediation if the briefs do not sufficiently address the issues raised and/or the remedies sought or proposed.


Who should attend the evaluative mediation?

For evaluative mediation to work, it is essential that the people attending the evaluative mediation session have the necessary authority to settle the case, either on their own behalf, or on behalf of the institutions that they represent.

It is up to you whether you bring a lawyer to the evaluative mediation session. If you do not have a lawyer, you may wish to be accompanied by a relative, advisor or friend.

The Canadian Human Rights Commission will usually have a lawyer present at a evaluative mediation. The lawyer for the Canadian Human Rights Commission does not represent the complainant, but rather represents the public interest.


Can I get legal advice before a settlement becomes final?

Yes. If you are not represented by a lawyer and an agreement is reached at the evaluative mediation, the settlement will not become final for seven days after the evaluative mediation. This will allow you to think things over and to get legal advice with respect to the settlement, if you wish to do so. You will be responsible for the cost of any legal advice or representation that you may receive.

Unless we are advised by you that you do not accept the settlement prior to the seven day deadline, the hearing will automatically be adjourned pending approval of the Minutes of Settlement by the Canadian Human Rights Commission.


What if I have special needs?

The Canadian Human Rights Tribunal will make every effort to accommodate the needs of persons with disabilities. If you wish to participate in the evaluative mediation process, and have special needs (such as the need for sign-language interpretation or wheelchair accessible facilities), you may advise the Registrar of the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal in order that the appropriate arrangements may be made.


What happens if we settle the case?

The Canadian Human Rights Act requires that any settlement agreed to by the parties prior to the start of the Tribunal hearing must be approved by the Commissioners of the Canadian Human Rights Commission. Accordingly, any agreement reached at an evaluative mediation session must be reduced in writing, signed by the parties or their solicitors and is subject to the approval of the Canadian Human Rights Commission. Commission approval is usually obtained within thirty days of the evaluative mediation.

If a settlement agreement is reached at the evaluative mediation session, and is approved by the Canadian Human Rights Commission, the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal will be notified and the Tribunal proceedings will be discontinued.


Can some of the parties to a complaint settle and not others?

Yes. In cases where complaints have been filed against more than one respondent, a complainant may settle with one respondent and not others. It is possible for the complainant and the respondent to settle the issues between them, without the participation of the Canadian Human Rights Commission. However, unless the settlement is approved by the Canadian Human Rights Commission, the matter may still proceed to a hearing.

In some cases, the Canadian Human Rights Commission may conclude that a settlement offer is sufficient to satisfy the public interest in the case. In such situations, if no agreement is reached, the Commission may decide not to participate further in the case, should it go on to a hearing


What happens if we do not settle the case?

If it is not possible to settle the case at evaluative mediation, an effort should be made during the evaluative mediation session to determine if there are any issues that can be resolved, or if agreement can be reached on any of the facts, so as to narrow the issues and potentially shorten the time required for the hearing.

Where no settlement is reached through evaluative mediation, the case will proceed to hearing on the dates previously established for the hearing.


If evaluative mediation does not succeed can we still settle the case?

Yes, it is open to the parties to resolve the issues between them at any time, without the assistance of the Tribunal, subject to the requirement that any settlement reached before the commencement of the hearing requires the approval of the Canadian Human Rights Commission.


Other questions?

If you have any other questions about the evaluative mediation process at the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal, please contact:

Jamie R. Robertson, CD
Director
Registry Operations
Canadian Human Rights Tribunal
160 Elgin Street - 11th floor
Ottawa ON  K1A 1J4
(613) 947-1122
Fax: (613) 995-3484
e-mail:Jamie.Robertson@chrt-tcdp.gc.ca


APPENDIX 1


CANADIAN HUMAN RIGHTS TRIBUNAL


TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF EVALUATIVE MEDIATION

IN THE MATTER OF CHRT FILE NO. __________________

BETWEEN :

(NAME)

Complainant

- and -

CANADIAN HUMAN RIGHTS COMMISSION

Commission

- and -

(NAME)

Respondent

  1. I, the undersigned, ___________________________, hereby acknowledge that the parties have requested the assistance of a mediator from the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal whose only role is to assist the parties in settling the above-noted complaint. I acknowledge that the mediator is not acting as legal counsel for any of the parties to the evaluative mediation, and is not providing legal advice.
  2. All information exchanged during evaluative mediation will be treated as strictly confidential by the parties and their representatives and cannot be used as evidence in a legal proceeding unless otherwise required by law. I agree not to communicate to anyone other than the parties and their legal counsel/representatives any of the information exchanged, statements made or actions taken during the evaluative mediation.
  3. I understand, that for reporting and statistical purposes, the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal may refer to a generic description of any settlement reached in the evaluative mediation. Should a settlement be arrived at, the mediator will ask the parties to approve the wording of this generic description by initialling the draft text appearing in Schedule “A” to these Terms and Conditions.
  4. Waiver of claims and release of liability: In consideration of the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal providing the services of a mediator to me, to my client or to my principal, I hereby waive any and all claims against the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal, its members and employees, including the mediator, (referred to collectively below as “the CHRT organization”) arising from or connected, directly or indirectly, with my presence at, or participation in, the evaluative mediation of the above-noted complaint.
  5. Further to paragraph 4, I release the CHRT organization from any and all liability for any loss, damage, injury (physical or psychological) or expense that I may suffer or incur by reason of said presence or participation, due to any cause whatsoever, including negligence, on the part of the CHRT organization or other participants, or anyone else. I will indemnify and hold harmless the CHRT organization from any and all liability for loss, damage, injury (physical or psychological) or expense suffered or incurred by me or anyone else in connection with said presence or participation.

Signed: ______________________________________
(Complainant, Respondent, Canadian Human Rights Commission)

At ______________, _____________, this _____ day of ___________, 201_ .




SCHEDULE “A” TO CHRT TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF EVALUATIVE MEDIATION

GENERIC DESCRIPTION OF SETTLEMENT: DRAFT TEXT

A complaint of discrimination on the ground(s) of ________ against a federally regulated entity/individual/government institution was settled. This complaint may have involved a ___ week hearing.

______
Initials

I hereby approve of this draft text for the purposes of paragraph 3.

PROCÉDURES DE MÉDIATION


Le 10 décembre 2010

LA MÉDIATION ÉVALUATIVE AU
TRIBUNAL CANADIEN DES DROITS DE LA PERSONNE

Les parties aux procédures du Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne ont la possibilité de résoudre leurs litiges par le processus de la médiation évaluative. Le présent document permettra de mieux comprendre le processus de médiation évaluative du Tribunal, en plus d’aider les parties à décider si elles souhaitent soumettre leur causeen médiation évaluative et à se préparer en conséquence, le cas échéant.


Qu’est-ce que la médiation évaluative?

La médiation évaluative est un processus volontaire offert par le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne pour permettre aux parties à des plaintes liées aux droits de la personne d’explorer des possibilités de règlement dans un cadre informel.

Le Tribunal offre la médiation à deux étapes du processus. La première étape est une médiation évaluative qui a lieu au début du processus. Pendant la médiation évaluative, le membre du Tribunal évaluera les forces et les faiblesses relatives des positions qu’adoptent les parties et pourra offrir aux parties une opinion non contraignante au sujet de l’issue probable de l’instruction.

La deuxième étape est une médiation évaluative après la divulgation, qui a lieu environ deux semaines avant le début de l’audience. Pendant la médiation évaluative d’après divulgation, le membre du Tribunal entendra les positions des parties et rendra une opinion non contraignante au sujet de l’issue probable de l’instruction. Le membre du Tribunal peut aussi décider qu’il y a contestation liée entre les parties afin d’accélérer le processus d’audience.

S’il n’y a pas de règlement sur la totalité des questions, le membre du Tribunal rendra une ordonnance dans laquelle il établira les questions qui n’ont pas été réglées et donnera les directives qu’il juge nécessaires pour leur règlement.


Comment fonctionne la médiation évaluative?

Quand elles ont choisi de soumettre leur cause en médiation évaluative, les parties, y compris la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne, ainsi que leurs avocats (le cas échéant) rencontrent un médiateur formé spécialement pour les aider à régler les différends. Habituellement, le médiateur rencontre toutes les parties et leurs conseillers lors d’une séance conjointe, mais il peut aussi choisir de rencontrer au préalable chacune des parties séparément. Au cours de la première séance, le médiateur explique le processus de médiation évaluative et donne à chaque partie l’occasion d’expliquer son point de vue au sujet des questions faisant l’objet du litige. Il s’ensuit généralement une discussion et des questions entre le médiateur et les parties, ainsi qu’entre les parties elles-mêmes. Les séances conjointes donnent aux parties la possibilité de discuter des différends directement avec la partie adverse.

Quand le processus de médiation évaluative commence par une séance conjointe et s’il le juge à propos, le médiateur peut rencontrer en privé chacune des parties. Cette façon de faire permet au médiateur et aux parties d’explorer plus à fond les besoins et les intérêts sous-tendant leurs positions officielles. Lors d’une telle séance, le médiateur aide les parties à réfléchir à un éventail d’options éventuelles de règlement de la totalité des questions en litige ou de certaines seulement.

Le médiateur peut tenir d’autres séances conjointes pour favoriser des discussions plus approfondies entre les parties ou il peut continuer à travailler avec les parties dans le cadre de réunions privées. Le cas échéant, le médiateur peut remettre aux parties une évaluation des points forts et des points faibles de leurs positions, fondée sur les renseignements qui lui ont été communiqués.

Le médiateur facilite les négociations entre les parties : il n’a aucun pouvoir d’imposer un règlement.


Qui sont les médiateurs?

Les médiateurs sont des membres du Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne qui, en plus de leur expertise dans le domaine des droits de la personne, ont reçu une formation spécialisée en techniques de médiation évaluative. Ces personnes sont neutres et impartiales et peuvent aider les parties à une plainte à résoudre leurs différends. Un membre du Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne à qui on soumet une cause en médiation évaluative ne peut entendre cette cause si elle se rend au processus de l’audience. De plus, rien de ce qui sera révélé au médiateur durant le processus de médiation évaluative ne sera communiqué au membre ou aux membres du Tribunal qui entendront la cause.


Où se déroulera la médiation évaluative?

De façon générale, la médiation évaluative se déroule en terrain neutre, à l’endroit prévu par le Tribunal. La médiation se déroule généralement dans une salle d’audience ou dans une salle de conférence.


Quand la médiation évaluative aura-t-elle lieu?

Le Tribunal fait son possible pour fixer une date de médiation évaluative le plus tôt possible après le renvoi de la cause au Tribunal.


Est-ce que la médiation évaluative retardera l’audience du Tribunal?

Non. Le Tribunal fixe les dates d’audience en fonction des premières dates disponibles. Les audiences ne seront pas retardées en raison des dates de la médiation évaluative.


Quelle sera la durée de la médiation évaluative?

On réserve habituellement une journée à chaque médiation évaluative. Selon les causes, on peut accorder du temps additionnel.


Le processus est-il confidentiel?

Les discussions qui ont lieu durant une séance de médiation évaluative sont confidentielles, qu’il y ait règlement ou non. S’il n’y a pas règlement, rien de ce qui s’est dit au cours de la médiation évaluative ne sera communiqué au membre ou aux membres du Tribunal qui entendront la cause par la suite. Avant le déroulement de la médiation évaluative, toutes les parties devront signer un document dans laquelle elles reconnaissent que toute information échangée entre les parties et leurs représentants durant la médiation évaluative, à moins d’exigences contraires en vertu de toute loi, sera traitée de façon strictement confidentielle et ne peut être utilisée comme preuve devant toute autre instance judiciaire. Un exemplaire des Termes et conditions régissant la médiation évaluative figure à l’annexe 1.


Qu’arrive-t-il si je ne veux pas de la médiation évaluative?

Le processus de médiation évaluative offert par le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne est volontaire. Par conséquent, personne ne peut être forcé de participer à une médiation évaluative.


Comment puis-je savoir si les autres parties sont intéressées par la médiation évaluative?

Peu de temps après le renvoi d’une cause de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne au Tribunal, chacune des parties recevra de la correspondance de la part du greffe du Tribunal, s’enquérant, entre autre, de l’intérêt des parties à soumettre la cause à la médiation évaluative. Si toutes les parties sont intéressées, le Tribunal affecte un médiateur qui aidera les parties à régler la plainte.


Que dois-je faire si je veux essayer la médiation évaluative?

Si toutes les parties à l’affaire ont manifesté leur intérêt à l’égard de la médiation évaluative, le Tribunal communiquera avec vous pour fixer l’heure et le lieu de la médiation évaluative, ainsi qu’un échéancier pour l’échange des mémoires de médiation évaluative.

Un médiateur sera affecté à la cause. Il peut vous joindre par téléphone, avant la séance de médiation évaluative, pour savoir notamment qui sera présent à la médiation évaluative et quels renseignements devraient lui être transmis avant la séance. Il peut s’assurer aussi que les personnes présentes à la médiation évaluative ont l’autorité nécessaire pour régler l’affaire.


Quels renseignements devrais-je faire parvenir au médiateur avant la médiation évaluative?

À moins qu’il ne vous demande expressément des renseignements additionnels, vous devriez faire parvenir au médiateur une brève description écrite des faits et des questions entourant l’affaire (maximum de 10 pages), tel que vous les voyez. Le(la) plaignant(e) devrait également indiquer quels redressements il/elle recherche. Les renseignements devraient être remis aux autres parties et au Tribunal au moins trois semaines avant la date prévue de la séance de médiation évaluative.


La médiation peut-elle être annulée?

Après examen des mémoires de médiation, le Tribunal peut reporter ou annuler la médiation si les mémoires n’analysent pas suffisamment les questions soulevées ou les mesures de redressement demandées ou proposées.


Qui devrait assister à la médiation évaluative?

Pour que la médiation évaluative réussisse, il est essentiel que les personnes qui assistent à la séance de médiation évaluative aient le pouvoir de régler la cause, soit en leur propre nom, soit au nom des institutions qu’elles représentent.

Il vous appartient de décider d’être ou non accompagné d’un avocat lors d’une séance de médiation évaluative. Si vous n’avez pas d’avocat, vous voudrez peut-être demander à un parent, un conseiller ou un ami de vous accompagner à la médiation évaluative.

La Commission canadienne des droits de la personne est habituellement représentée par un avocat à la médiation évaluative. L’avocat de la Commission ne représente cependant pas le plaignant, mais plutôt l’intérêt public.


Est-ce que je peux obtenir des conseils juridiques avant qu’un règlement devienne définitif?

Oui. Si vous n’êtes pas représenté par un avocat et que la médiation évaluative débouche sur une entente, le règlement ne deviendra définitif que sept jours après la médiation évaluative. Cette période vous permettra de réfléchir à toute la situation et d’obtenir des conseils juridiques relativement au règlement, si tel est votre souhait. Vous assumerez les frais reliés aux conseils juridiques que vous pourriez recevoir ou à la représentation par un avocat.

À moins de recevoir un avis de votre part dans le délai prescrit de sept jours nous indiquant que vous n’acceptez pas le règlement, l’audience sera automatiquement ajournée en attente de l’approbation par la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne du protocole du règlement.


Qu’arrive-t-il si j’ai des besoins particuliers?

Le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne déploiera tous les efforts nécessaires pour tenir compte des besoins des personnes ayant des déficiences. Si vous voulez participer au processus de médiation évaluative et que vous avez des besoins particuliers (par exemple, vous avez besoin de services d’interprétation gestuelle ou d’installations accessibles en fauteuil roulant), vous pouvez en informer le registraire du Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne, qui verra à ce que les dispositions nécessaires soient prises.


Qu’arrive-t-il si nous réglons l’affaire?

La Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne exige que toute entente conclue par les parties avant le début de l’audience du Tribunal soit approuvée par les commissaires de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne. En conséquence, toute entente conclue lors d’une séance de médiation évaluative doit être signée par les parties ou leurs avocats et sera soumise à l’approbation de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne. On obtient habituellement cette approbation dans les trente jours suivant la médiation évaluative.

Si une entente est conclue lors de la séance de médiation évaluative et qu’elle est approuvée par la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne, le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne en sera avisé et les procédures devant le Tribunal seront interrompues.


Est-ce que l’une des parties à une plainte peut régler et non les autres?

Oui. Si une plainte déposée vise plus d’un intimé, le plaignant peut s’entendre avec l’un des intimés mais pas avec les autres. Il est possible que le plaignant et l’intimé règlent les questions entre eux, sans la participation de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne. Cependant, à moins que le règlement ne soit approuvé par la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne, le différend peut toujours faire l’objet d’une audience.

De même, la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne peut conclure qu’une offre de règlement suffit pour satisfaire à son mandat d’intérêt public. Dans ce cas, si les parties ne parviennent à aucune entente, la Commission peut décider de se retirer de l’affaire, qu’elle fasse l’objet d’une audience ou non.


Qu’arrive-t-il s’il n’y a pas règlement?

S’il n’est pas possible d’en arriver à un règlement de l’affaire lors de la médiation évaluative, on devrait s’efforcer lors de la médiation évaluative de déterminer s’il y a des questions qui peuvent être résolues, ou s’il peut y avoir entente sur certains faits de façon à limiter les questions en litige et à éventuellement abréger la période nécessaire à l’audience.

Si aucune entente n’est conclue lors de la médiation évaluative, une audience se tiendra aux dates fixées préalablement.


Si la médiation évaluative ne débouche pas sur un règlement, pouvons-nous quand même régler l’affaire?

Oui, les parties peuvent en tout temps résoudre les différends les opposant, sans l’aide du Tribunal, à la condition que toute entente conclue avant le début de l’audience soit approuvée par la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne.


Autres questions?

Si vous avez d’autres questions au sujet du processus de médiation évaluative du Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne, veuillez communiquer avec:

Jamie R. Robertson, CD
Directeur
Activités du greffe
Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne
11ieme étage, 160 rue Elgin
Ottawa ON K1A 1J4
(613) 947-1122
Téléc. : (613) 995-3484
Courriel:Jamie.Robertson@chrt-tcdp.gc.ca


ANNEXE 1

TRIBUNAL CANADIEN DES DROITS DE LA PERSONNE
TERMES ET CONDITIONS RÉGISSANT LA MÉDIATION ÉVALUATIVE

EN CE QUI CONCERNE LE DOSSIER DU TRIBUNAL NO ____________

ENTRE :

(Nom)

le(a) plaignant(e)

- et -

COMMISSION CANADIENNE DES DROITS DE LA PERSONNE

la Commission

- et -

(Nom)

l’intimé(e)

  1. Je, soussigné, ______________________, reconnais que les parties ont demandé les services d’un médiateur du Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne, dont le seul rôle est d’aider les parties à régler la plainte ci-haut mentionnée. Je reconnais que le médiateur n’agit pas en tant que conseiller juridique pour aucune des parties participant à la médiation évaluative et qu’il ne fournit aucun conseil juridique.
  2. Toute information échangée entre les parties et leurs représentants durant la médiation évaluative, à moins d’exigences contraires en vertu de toute loi, sera traitée de façon strictement confidentielle et ne peut être utilisée comme preuve devant toute autre instance judiciaire. Je m’engage à ne pas communiquer toute information échangée, tout exposé communiqué ou action entreprise durant la médiation évaluative à nul autre que les avocats et/ou représentants des parties ou les parties elles-mêmes.
  3. Je comprends que, à des fins de rapport et de statistique, le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne peut se référer à une description générale de tout règlement conclu dans le cadre de la médiation évaluative. Si un règlement est conclu, le médiateur demandera aux parties d’approuver le libellé de cette description générale en paraphant l’ébauche du texte qui figure à l’Annexe A des présents Termes et conditions.
  4. Renonciation des réclamations et exonération de responsabilité : En contrepartie des services d’un médiateur, fournis par le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne à moi, à mon client ou à mon mandant, par la présente, je renonce à toute réclamation contre le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne, ses membres et ses employé-e-s, y compris le médiateur, (ci-après désignés globalement comme « l’organisme du TCDP ») qui provient de ou qui est reliée à, directement ou indirectement, ma présence ou ma participation à la médiation évaluative de la plainte ci-haut mentionnée.
  5. Suite au paragraphe 4, j’exonère l’organisme du TCDP de toute responsabilité par rapport aux pertes, dommages, préjudices (physiques ou psychologiques), ou dépenses que je subirais ou que j’encourrais en raison desdites présence ou participation, pour tout motif, y compris la négligence de l’organisme du TCDP ou des autres participant-e-s, ou quiconque. J’indemniserai l’organisme du TCDP de toute responsabilité pour perte, dommage, préjudice (physique or psychologique) ou dépense subi ou encouru par moi ou n’importe qui d’autre en lien avec lesdites présences ou participation.

Et j’ai signé :   ______________________________________
(plaignant(e), intimé(e), Commission canadienne des droits de la personne)

À _______________( ___________ ), ce __________ème jour de ___________ 201_.


TERMES ET CONDITIONS RÉGISSANT LA MÉDIATION ÉVALUATIVE DU TCDP

DESCRIPTION GÉNÉRIQUE DU RèGLEMENT, ÉBAUCHE

Une plainte de discrimination fondée sur ________ déposée contre une entité/personne/institution gouvernementale soumise à la réglementation fédérale a été réglée. Cette plainte peut avoir exigé la tenue d’une audience de ___ semaine(s).

______
Initiales
J’approuve la présente ébauche rédigée en application du paragraphe 3.