Frequently Asked Questions




  • 1. Who should I contact if I have a human rights complaint?

    You should contact the Canadian Human Rights Commission. The Canadian Human Rights Tribunal can only deal with cases which have been referred to it by the Commission. Most complaints filed with the Commission are resolved without being referred to the Tribunal. If the complaint warrants further inquiry and an agreement cannot be reached between the parties, the Commission will send the case to the Tribunal.

  • 2. Why can't I take my case directly to the Tribunal?

    Parliament has determined that because the Tribunal acts like a court it must remain impartial. Its role would be compromised if it acted as an advocate or if it investigated complaints that it might eventually have to rule on.

  • 3. What is the difference between the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal (CHRT) and the Canadian Human Rights Commission (CHRC)?

    It helps to think of the CHRT's role as similar to that of a court and the CHRC's role as similar to that of the police, receiving and investigating complaints. If the Commission believes that further inquiry is warranted, and a resolution between the parties cannot be reached, it refers the case to the Tribunal for formal hearing. At this stage, the Commission will take one of three positions:

    1. It may act like a crown attorney and fully participate at the hearing in the public interest by leading evidence to prove a case of discrimination;
    2. It may participate as above, but in a limited capacity by addressing specific issues or legal questions, but will not by present during the whole hearing; or
    3. It may choose not to participate in the hearing process at all.

    In the last two scenarios, the complainant, through a lawyer or on their own, will be required to lead the evidence necessary to prove their case to the Tribunal. The Tribunal's role in all situations is comparable to that of a judge, deciding the case fairly and impartially by weighing all the evidence introduced by all parties and deciding if discrimination under the Act has occurred. If yes, the Tribunal will determine an appropriate remedy.

  • 4. Does the Canadian Human Rights Act (CHRA) cover all human rights complaints in Canada?

    No. The Tribunal's jurisdiction covers matters within the legislative authority of the Parliament of Canada which includes federal government departments and agencies, Crown corporations, banks, airlines, and other federally regulated employers and service providers. Provincial and territorial human rights commissions also operate under provincial/territorial human rights codes and jurisdictions. If you're not sure whether your complaint is against a "federally regulated" organization, contact your provincial or territorial human rights commission or the Canadian Human Rights Commission.

  • 5. Where does the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal get its authority?

    The Tribunal was created by an Act of Parliament in 1977. The Canadian Human Rights Act states that all Canadians have the right to equality, equal opportunity, fair treatment, and an environment free of discrimination.

  • 6. What are the grounds for discrimination prohibited by the Canadian Human Rights Act?

    The Act prohibits discrimination on the following grounds:

    • race
    • national or ethnic origin
    • colour
    • religion
    • age
    • sex (includes pay equity, harassment (which applies to all grounds, not just sex), pregnancy and childbirth)
    • marital status
    • family status
    • sexual orientation
    • disability (can be mental/physical, includes disfigurement, past or present, alcohol or drug dependence)
    • conviction for which a pardon has been granted

  • 7. How does the Tribunal make its decisions?

    The Tribunal holds public hearings to render a decision on cases referred by the Canadian Human Rights Commission. Based on evidence and the law, it decides if discrimination has occurred. If the answer is yes, the Tribunal decides how to compensate the victim and how to prevent similar cases of discrimination in the future.

  • 8. What is the difference between an interim ruling and a final decision?

    Before or during the hearing, one of the parties may request the Tribunal to issue an interim ruling on a preliminary or procedural matter not related to the merits of the complaint. Several months after the hearing, the Tribunal will issue its final decision as to whether the alleged discrimination on grounds prohibited by the Canadian Human Rights Act occurred. If the Tribunal decides that discrimination did occur, it will also decide what the remedy should be.


  • 9. What happens if I disagree with a Tribunal ruling or final decision?

    If one of the parties involved in the case wants a review of the Tribunal's decision, under appropriate circumstances the party may be able to file an application for review with the Federal Court of Canada.


  • 10. Who sits on the Tribunal?

    The Tribunal is comprised of a full-time Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson, as well as up to 13 full- or part-time members, who are appointed for terms up to five years. When a case is referred to the Tribunal, the Chairperson assigns either one or three members to hear the case.

  • 11. Who is responsible for the day-to-day running of the Tribunal?

    The Registrar and his staff are responsible for planning, organizing and directing Tribunal operations. Its activities are entirely separate from the decision-making process. It plans and arranges hearings and gives members the administrative support they need to carry out their duties, acting as liaison between the parties and the members.

  • 12. How can I find out about job opportunities at the Tribunal?

    Please contact the Public Service Commission of Canada  for job opportunities in the Public Service.

  • 13. Where can I find more information about human rights advocacy and policy issues, the grounds for discrimination under the Canadian Human Rights Act and the process of filing and resolving human rights complaints?

    Please consult the Canadian Human Rights Commission Web site.

Foire aux questions




  • 1. À qui dois-je m'adresser si j'ai une plainte en matière de droits de la personne ?

    Vous devriez communiquer avec la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne. Le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne peut seulement traiter les causes que la Commission lui a soumis. La plupart des plaintes déposées auprès de la Commission sont réglées avant même d'être présentées au Tribunal. Si la plainte est valable et que la Commission ne peut la régler, elle soumettra alors la cause au Tribunal.

  • 2. Pourquoi ne puis-je porter ma cause directement devant le Tribunal ?

    Le Parlement a déterminé que, étant donné que le Tribunal fonctionne comme une cour de justice, il doit demeurer impartial. Son rôle serait dénaturé s'il agissait comme défenseur ou s'il procédait à l'enquête des plaintes sur lesquelles il aura éventuellement à se prononcer.

  • 3. Quelle est la différence entre le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne (TCDP) et la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne (CCDP) ?

    Voyez dans le TCDP l'incarnation d'une cour de justice et dans la CCDP l'incarnation de la police, qui reçoit et enquête sur les plaintes. Si la Commission croit qu'une enquête approfondie est justifiée et qu'il est impossible d'obtenir un règlement entre les parties, elle renvoie le cas devant le Tribunal en vue d'une audition officielle. À ce stade, la Commission adopte l'une des trois positions suivantes :

    1. elle peut jouer le rôle de procureur de la Couronne et participer pleinement à l'audition dans l'intérêt du public en présentant des preuves montrant qu'il s'agit d'un cas de discrimination;
    2. elle peut jouer le rôle mentionné ci-dessus, mais à un degré moindre, en traitant de questions ou de points juridiques particuliers, mais sans assister à toute l'audition; ou bien
    3. elle peut choisir de ne pas participer du tout à l'audition.

    Dans les deux derniers cas, le plaignant, seul ou par l'intermédiaire d'un avocat, est tenu de présenter les preuves requises pour prouver sa cause au Tribunal. Dans toutes les situations, le rôle du Tribunal est comparable à celui d'un juge qui doit régler le cas de façon équitable et impartiale en pesant toutes les preuves présentées par les parties et en décidant s'il y a eu discrimination en vertu de la Loi. Dans l'affirmative, le Tribunal détermine le redressement qui convient.

  • 4. Est-ce que la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne (LCDP) vise toutes les plaintes en matière de droits de la personne au Canada ?

    Non. La compétence du Tribunal touche aux questions qui reposent dans le cadre du pouvoir législatif du Parlement du Canada, qui comprend les ministères et les organismes du gouvernement fédéral, les sociétés d'État, les banques, les entreprises de transport aérien, ainsi que d'autres employeurs ou fournisseurs de services relevant de la compétence fédérale. Les Commissions provinciales et territoriales des droits de la personne sont également soumises à des codes et des compétences provinciales et territoriales des droits de la personne. Si vous n'êtes pas sûr(e) de travailler pour un organisme « régi par le gouvernement fédéral », veuillez communiquer avec la commission des droits de la personne de votre province ou de votre territoire ou à la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne.

  • 5. D'où le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne tire-t-il sa légitimité ?

    Le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne doit sa création à une loi du Parlement adoptée en 1977. La Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne énonce que tous les Canadiens ont droit à l'égalité des chances, au traitement équitable et à un environnement exempt de discrimination.

  • 6. Quels sont les motifs de discrimination interdits par la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne ?

    Aux termes de la Loi, il est interdit d'exercer toute discrimination aux motifs suivants :

    • la race
    • l'origine nationale ou ethnique
    • la couleur
    • la religion
    • l'âge
    • le sexe (y compris la parité salariale, le harcèlement (non seulement applicable au sexe mais également à tous les motifs interdits), la grossesse et l'accouchement)
    • l'état matrimonial
    • la situation familiale
    • l'orientation sexuelle
    • la déficience (qui peut être mentale ou physique, y compris le défigurement, passé ou présent, la toxicomanie ou la dépendance à l'alcool)
    • l'état de personne graciée
  • 7. Comment le Tribunal rend-il ses décisions ?

    Le Tribunal tient des audiences publiques pour rendre une décision quant aux causes soumises par la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne. En se fondant sur la preuve et la loi, il décide s'il y a eu discrimination ou non. Dans l'affirmative, le Tribunal décide de la façon de dédommager la victime et d'empêcher qu'une situation de même nature se reproduise à l'avenir.

  • 8. Quelle est la différence entre une décision provisoire et une décision définitive ?

    Avant ou durant l'audience, une des parties peut demander au Tribunal de rendre une décision provisoire sur une question préliminaire ou de procédures non liée au bien-fondé de la plainte. Plusieurs mois après l'audience, le Tribunal rendra sa décision définitive, si les allégations de discrimination fondées sur des motifs interdits par la Loi canadienne des droits de la personne ont eu lieu. Si le Tribunal décide qu'il y a eu en fait discrimination, il décidera également du dédommagement.


  • 9. Que se passe-t-il si je ne suis pas d'accord avec une décision ou une décision définitive du Tribunal ?

    Si l'une des parties en cause dans un jugement veut une révision d'une décision du Tribunal, si les circonstances s'y prêtent, elle peut porter une demande de révision auprès de la Cour fédérale du Canada..


  • 10. Qui siège au Tribunal ?

    Le Tribunal compte un(e) président(e) et un(e) vice-président(e) à temps partiel, ainsi que 13 membres à temps plein ou partiel, nommés pour des mandats pouvant atteindre cinq ans. Lorsqu'une cause est présentée au Tribunal, le(la) président(e) affecte un ou trois membres à la cause en question.

  • 11. Qui est chargé du fonctionnement quotidien du Tribunal ?

    Le registraire du Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne et ses collaborateurs sont chargés de planifier, d'organiser et de diriger les opérations du Tribunal. Leurs activités sont entièrement distinctes du processus de prise de décision. Ils planifient et organisent les audiences et apportent aux membres l'appui administratif dont ils ont besoin pour s'acquitter de leurs fonctions, assurant la liaison entre les parties en cause et les membres.

  • 12. Comment puis-je me renseigner au sujet des occasions d'emploi au Tribunal ?

    Veuillez communiquer avec la Commission de la fonction publique du Canada pour vous renseigner au sujet des occasions d'emploi au sein de la fonction publique.

  • 13. Où puis-je trouver plus d'information au sujet des questions liées à la défense d'une cause et aux politiques des droits de la personne, aux motifs de discrimination aux termes de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne et au sujet du processus de dépôt et de règlement de plaintes en matière de droits de la personne ?

    Veuillez consulter le site Web de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne.