Chairperson Message

Welcome,

As the Chairperson of the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal, I am delighted to welcome you to our website.


The Canadian Human Rights Tribunal is a quasi-judicial body that inquires into complaints of discrimination referred to it by the Canadian Human Rights Commission and decides whether the conduct alleged in the complaint is a discriminatory practice within the meaning of the Canadian Human Rights Act. The Tribunal can also review directions and assessments made under the Employment Equity Act.


The Tribunal operates pursuant to the Canadian Human Rights Act, which aims to give effect to the principle that all individuals should have an equal opportunity to live their lives unhindered by discriminatory practices based on race, national or ethnic origin, colour, religion, age, sex (including pregnancy), marital status, family status, sexual orientation, disability (including drug dependency) or pardoned criminal conviction.


The Act applies to federally regulated employers and service providers, including: federal government departments and agencies, federal Crown corporations, chartered banks, airlines, shipping and inter-provincial trucking companies, telecommunications and broadcasting organizations, and as well as First Nations governments as well as federally regulated Aboriginal organizations.


David L. Thomas,
Chairperson

Message du président

Mot de bienvenue

À titre de président du Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne, j'ai le grand plaisir de vous souhaiter la bienvenue sur notre site Web.


Le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne est un organisme quasi judiciaire qui enquête les plaintes de discrimination que lui envoie la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne et qui détermine si les faits allégués constituent un acte discriminatoire au sens de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne. Le Tribunal peut également évaluer les directives et évaluations élaborées en vertu de la Loi sur l'équité en matière d'emploi.


Le Tribunal est chargé d'appliquer la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne, qui a pour but de donner effet au principe que tous individus a droit à des chances égales d'épanouissement, indépendamment des considérations fondées sur la race, l'origine nationale ou ethnique, la couleur, la religion, l'âge, le sexe (y compris la grossesse), l'orientation sexuelle, l'état matrimonial, la situation de famille, la déficience (y compris la dépendance aux drogues) ou l'état de personne graciée.


La Loi s'applique aux employeurs et fournisseurs de services sous réglementation fédérale, tels que les ministères et organismes fédéraux, les sociétés d'État, les banques à charte, les compagnies aériennes, les entreprises d'expédition et de camionnage interprovincial et les entreprises de télécommunication et de radiodiffusion ainsi qu'aux gouvernements des Premières Nations et aux organisations autochtones sous réglementation fédérale.


David L. Thomas,
Président